Yesterday’s Eats (WIAW)

I had fun with sharing my meals last time, so I decided to join the party again! It’s great to glean ideas from each other, because promoting variety in the diet is never a bad thing.

Breakfast: Overnight oats made with 1/4 cup oats, 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1/2 a banana, & ~1 tablespoon chia seeds. I threw this together the night before in an almost empty peanut butter jar, in preparation of having to be at Panera for work at 5 am. I totally forgot to take a picture, so you have the end result. Last night I read that the limit for oats eaten in one sitting while on the low-FODMAP diet is 1/4 cup… bummer. Luckily, the peanut butter jar had close to 2 tablespoons of peanut butter to keep me full.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I also had an iced coffee the size of my head. I mixed it with almond milk and stevia and it was so good and so necessary for such an early start to the day.

Lunch: 1/2 strawberry poppy seed salad with chicken with olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette + a bag of baked “crisps” (p.s. have you ever notice how baked chips don’t say chips but crisps? The FDA doesn’t allow them to be called chips because they don’t fit the food’s definition)

unnamed (2)

unnamed

Perk of working at Panera early in the morning? I can get lunch to bring with me to job #2! I kept things low-FODMAP by choosing the 1/2 sized salad, so that veggie/fruit portions wereΒ within limits (though man, do I love a big salad).Β Also, most pre-made dressings contain high-FODMAP ingredients, so the oil/vinegar combo was utilized. I love balsamic, so I am A-okay with that.

Snack #1: NuGo Chocolate Mocha bar with lime seltzer

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Polar seltzer is probably my favorite store bought seltzer, because the flavor sticks around longer than most. Also, word to the wise- while on the FODMAP diet, don’t get stuck without food. I forgot to pack a snack and didn’t want to go workout while starving, so I picked this up. The bar was delicious as far as protein bars go, but it did contain agave syrup.

After work I met my friend for a 4-mile walk along the river. It was hot, so I went sporting my favorite summer outfit (ribbed tank plus athletic shorts).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We ran into several deer along the way. The gym can’t offer that! ;). We finished the walk sweating from every pore.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Dinner: Turkey burger, tomatoes, pasta salad (100% corn pasta, olive oil, vinegar, salt, paprika, and dill), carrots fries, plus necessary condiments

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This meal was my favorite, because I got to cook, eat, and enjoy it with my husband.

Snack #2: a sad looking rice cake topped with cinnamon and sunbutter. Accompanied by a mug of almond milk.

image

This snack was more out of desire than hunger. Terry and I tend to end each night with Netflix and snack and last night was no different. We are currently in season 6 of House, MD and I feel so attached.

Do you get attached to TV characters? Is a night snack more tradition or necessity for you?

11 thoughts on “Yesterday’s Eats (WIAW)

    1. Haha! Luckily Panera’s employee discount is pretty sweet! My husband and I can eat there for about 8 dollars total. It does take restraint however to not eat there every time I work!

Leave a Reply

