Summer Squash and Salmon Pasta

Something I’ve discovered about myself over the past year: I laugh a lot. How am I just now seeing this? Not only do I laugh a lot, but I have lots of different laughs. The “wow, that’s really funny laugh” to the “oo, that’s awkward laugh” to the “it’s not really that funny, but it needs to be acknowledged laugh”. My ability to laugh carries over into my blogging, too. I want to type “ha ha” in almost every comment I write. I say this all because I’ve recently noticed how I am often the only one laughing. But y’all, laughter really is the best medicine! It is so good for the soul!

How about we laugh at how unattractive this pasta looks? Because isn’t it funny how some of the best tasting foods are kind of ugly? Almost always casseroles look a little funky (no wonder kids stray from casseroles). Also anytime I add anything other bright veggies to scrambled eggs it’s usually not very pretty. Once I made an omelet with red cabbage and ended up with a gray omelet… not so appetizing. Yet it sure was tasty!

And so is this pasta! It’s low-FODMAP approved and it is easy enough to make on a weeknight after you get home from work starving and tired. I used canned salmon, because while I adore salmon, it can be pricey. I don’t enjoy the canned stuffed by itself like I do grilled salmon filets, but it is great in pastas and salads.

unnamed (20)

We ate ours along with crispy baked green beans.

unnamed

Summer Squash and Salmon Pasta

Ingredients

2 cups dry rigatoni (I used 100% corn pasta)

1/4 medium squash, diced

1 large carrot, diced

1/2 can salmon

1/2 tsp each of basil, dill, and paprika

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/4 cup low-sodium chicken broth

Sauce:

1 cup low-sodium chicken broth

1 tablespoon cornstarch

3/4 cup shredded mozzarella

Directions

1. Cook pasta al dente according to directions on box/bag.

2. Add diced carrots and squash to a large greased pan with 2 tbsp chicken broth. Saute on medium-high until soft.

3. Add salmon to pan, combining veggies and salmon evenly.

4. In a small sauce pan, combine 1 cup chicken broth with 1 tablespoon cornstarch. Stir constantly on medium-high for 1-2 minutes. Add cheese and stir until homogeneous.

5. Combine pasta and cheese sauce with salmon/veggie mixture in large pan. Add basil, dill, salt, and pepper.

6. Serve warm and top with more freshly cracked pepper.

In case you’re wondering, this makes for wonderful leftovers.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetWhat’s an ugly food you adore? 

7 thoughts on “Summer Squash and Salmon Pasta

Leave a Reply

