Happy Monday & a cookie recipe for two

Monday’s feel good to me. Half-dreaded / half-thrilling. Sure it’s back to work, but so much can happen in a week and it’s like starting the adventure all over again.

Yesterday I changed my gravatar picture because the bridal portrait was beginning to seem like a little much. I started this blog last year after I just gotย married, so it seemed appropriate, but now it kind of seems like overkill. You know when you see a picture of yourself that is a pretty picture, but you know deep down that you normally don’t look like that? Sure, you can clean up quite nicely, but that’s just not you on a day-to-day basis. Well, that’s how I felt about the picture. So now what you see is a picture of me that I consider to be very realistic. I like it today, but I may feel uncomfortable with reality tomorrow and rope Terry into taking glamour shots of me… us girls, so moody! ๐Ÿ˜‰

10464264_10152385659659678_2287842712537880138_n

The me you’d see at a special event (like my wedding).

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

The me you’d see at the grocery store.

On Saturday, Terry and I pulled together the forces and took our youth group down to the beach for the day. It was a pretty long trip, but it was great to see the ocean. We were treated by mother nature toย veryย hot day, but we played in the ocean and I managed to read all of “It Was Me All Along” by Andie Mitchellย (book review coming soon). While I am more of a mountains gal, I love that living in South Carolina means the beach is so accessible and day trips are possible.

beach

The night before the beach, I threw together these cookies. Once I realized that theyย turned out yummy, I decided to share it with you. They are incredible easy and are perfect for the nights where you want something sweet, but healthy. So, basically every night if you’re me.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 presetThe could not be easier to throw together either. Here our all the ingredients required:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Cocoa-nut Oatmeal Cookies for Two

Makes 6 cookies

Ingredientsย 

1 medium banana, the riper the more sweet

1/3 cup rolled oats

2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tsp milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)

1 tbsp shredded coconut, unsweetened

Directions

Preheat oven to 350ยฐF. Mash banana in a mixing bowl, then add all other ingredients. Mix to combine. Spoon out ~1-2 tablespoons of the mixture onto a greased pan, repeat to make six all together. Flatten each with the back of spoon. Cookies should be very thin. (It’s very important to flatten so you won’t get sad little blobs, like I’ve done before with cookie recipes).

unnamed (6)

Bake in oven for ~13 minutes. Place on broil for 1 additional minute. Take out of oven and let sit for 5-10 minutes. Share with husband/friend/mom/yourself and enjoy with ice cold (almond) milk.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetMake these tonight and your week is surely off to a good start!

5 thoughts on “Happy Monday & a cookie recipe for two

  1. Incredible! This looks like the best breakfast, snack, or dessert. Loving all the ingredients and the fact that they are so quick and easy – plus they make 6 for portion control! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I really respect the change of photo; I can get pretty wrapped up in getting portraits that I love of myself. But I love seeing pictures of others that truly look like them, so thanks for the reminder to apply that to myself also ๐Ÿ™‚ And the cookies look delicious!

  3. Love the cookie recipe! Also the picture change too, I can’t even begin to think of how many times I’ve seen someone’s username picture, then actually meet them in real life and find out they look completely different!

Leave a Reply

