Tomato Basil Cabbage & Tempeh

Happy Tuesday! Now that I’m back to working two jobs I am more aware of what day it is. The strange thing about food service jobs is that all days seem the same. The only anchor is knowing that Sunday is church day. The other days blur together.

One thing I am particularly happy about is my hair! Last summer I had the brilliant idea to chop all of it off. While it was cute most days, it was just too high maintenance for me. Now I can tie my long hair up into a high bun and be done with it.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Last night I was cooking for just me, due to Terry being out of town for work. Whenever I am just cooking for myself I try to take the opportunity to experiment with recipe creation.

I love vegetables. Like a whole lot. When I stayed on campus in college I would go back for seconds of the broccoli. I used to go ham on a veggie or fruit tray. I still eat produce in abundance, but ever since I connected a ton of veggies with debilitating stomach pain, I’ve slowed it down. Still, I am so tempted to eat the entire pan of roasted broccoli.

Being married to Terry has toned down my veggie consumption, because I can no longer make stir-fry cabbage the main course. So now I probably eat just an above average amount rather than an out this world ridiculous amount.

Last night I was really craving cabbage and I wanted to use the tempeh I had bought from Trader Joe’s. So good. I prefer tempeh over tofu and wish Aldi would sell it. I didn’t have any sauce on hand that peaked my interest, so I experimented with tomato paste. What resulted was such a yummy dish I thought I’d share it with you.

It’s pretty simple…. chop onions and cabbage.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Stir a sauce together and let tempeh marinate for a bit

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Cook it all together and bam! A quick and easy delicious dinner is served.

unnamed (1)

Tomato Basil Cabbage & Tempeh
1/3 of an 8 oz block of tempeh, sliced into thin strips
3 cups cabbage, chopped
1/2 cup onion, chopped finely
Sauce:
2 tbsp tomato paste
1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp basil
1/2 tsp garlic
1/2 tsp red pepper
1/2 c water

Instructions: Spray a large frying (a wok works great for this) and place on medium heat. Add onions and cabbage. Add 1/4 cup water and let steam until soft. Stir to keep from sticking. While vegetables are cooking, combine all ingredients for the tomato sauce. Place the thin strips of tempeh in the sauce to marinate for about 5 minutes. Then add tempeh and sauce into the pan with the cabbage and onions. Stir and let cook until warm.

This could easily serve two people with the addition of rice or quinoa.

Finally, here’s a link that I found very interesting and would love for as many people as possible to read:
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/sophia-herbst/1200-calories_b_4816597.html

Leave a Reply

