Calzones on the fly

Yesterday’s lunch was a special one, because it was my first time making calzones. I had some leftover whole wheat pizza dough from when I made some for a pizza, so rather than doing a repeat of dinner from a few nights before I thought-

tumblr_m6ww86x81m1qebseoo1_250

I never really thought about calzones until Terry & I watched Parks and Rec this past spring, which was “LIT-RALLY” hilarious. It sparked an interest in the food that’s pizza, just harder to eat than pizza. Still, since I had already made the dough these were so incredibly easy to put together.

First, look how cute this onion is. I love miniatures.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I chose to stuff ours with broccoli, onions, and mozzarella cheese. I shook a little garlic powder and red pepper flakes (for me- Terry hates spicy) on top.

unnamed (8)

The folding part was definitely the most difficult. I did a pretty good job with Terry’s…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

But mine ended up looking like this:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

His was pretty though, so no worries. I think the biggest thing was I used more dough for him and didn’t try to over stuff it. I just like a lot of broccoli, K?

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I put the marinara on the side for dipping, because that’s what I’ve seen at restaurants. Terry said he would have preferred it inside. But that’s the cool thing about personal calzones- they can be personalized! And since I used whole wheat dough and veggies for the main stuffing, they were pretty healthy too!

Now, I leave you with inspiring messages from Leslie & Andy:

tumblr_nchw6hHlM21tvvvdto1_1280

images

3 thoughts on “Calzones on the fly

Leave a Reply

