Recipes I’ve Tried Lately

The summer bucket list item to “try new recipes” is under full effect! After a few too many meals out I was so ready to get busy in the kitchen. Trying the new recipes was a lot of fun, so I decided to share them with you. I’m thinking there will be other posts very similar to this one in the future!

Easy Chicken & Bean Bake via KathEats

Easy peasy delicious! This is one of those “one pot meals” that can be whipped up in a hurry. This was actually my first time cooking with chicken thighs. Because they were sitting on top, the shared lots of flavor with the beans.

Rather than the chickpeas and navy beans as suggested in the original recipe, I used white beans and black eyed peas. I did not use fresh herbs but dried herbs, so I can only imagine the kind of flavor it would have had with the fresh.

Main lesson learned- I need a food thermometer! Chicken thighs do not cook like chicken breasts.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Healthy Marshmallow Fluff via Chocolate Covered Katie

This is probably one of the weirdest recipes I’ve ever made. Marshmallow fluff made with two ingredients. The liquid from a can of white beans or chickpeas plus some type of sweetener. I used white sugar.

unnamed (9)

The smell of the bean liquid threw me off at first. I wasn’t totally convinced that it was going to work out. I put the ingredients in my food processor for a good 10 minutes and the white foam slowly began to form. It was still a bit liquid-y so I used a mechanical hand mixer for another 3 minutes. Finally, it was all nice and fluffy. The taste was spot on too!

unnamed (8)

I didn’t know what exactly to do with it- I mostly just wanted to see if it would work. I decided to freeze it and now it is like a container of “healthy” Cool Whip.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Spaghetti with Spinach Sauce via Erren’s Kitchen

An easy dish with a simple but delicious flavor- just what I was looking for. I had a couple of bags of frozen spinach I wanted to use, so after researching “ways to use frozen spinach” I came across this one. I really liked it! I used whole wheat spaghetti noodles and garlic powder rather than fresh garlic.

Terry thought it needed meat or tomato sauce, but I found its simplicity to be just right. I will try this again, next time I will possibly try adding chicken sausage.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Banana Bread via Food Network Kitchen

Lucky me we had a ton of too ripe-for-smoothies bananas at work, so I got to take some home. I immediately knew I was going to make basic banana bread. I’ve made banana bread before, but I usually opt for a vegan or healthier option, so I can eat it as a snack. This time I wanted to see if I could manage a classic. This recipe used canola oil instead of butter, which made the “creaming” time much shorter. I usually don’t have the best luck with baked goods and they usually come out looking a little too flat.

Not this time! This batch turned out perfectly! It was pretty looking and very moist and the banana flavor was great.

unnamed (3)

unnamed (4)

Flourless Cranberry Chocolate Chia Cookies via Hummusapian 

Another recipe to use up overripe bananas- and this time a healthier one. I’ve been eyeing this recipe for a while now. It’s got a lot of goodness with the chocolate and cranberries. It doesn’t have any flour or added sugars. I have mixed feelings about flourless recipes. They tend to be a little too dense for me and use more expensive ingredients, like nut butters. These cookies actually called for almond butter, but I used peanut butter instead. I think the almond butter would have been better, but as a grad student I can’t justify the $8+ dollar jar just yet.

They turned out rather scrumptious and were a breeze to make. The tartness of the cranberries and the richness of the cocoa is perfect. Let’s just hope I don’t have any chia seeds floating around in my mouth like they tend to do.

unnamed (2)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

That’s all for this time. Let me know if you try any of them!

4 thoughts on “Recipes I’ve Tried Lately

Leave a Reply

