It’s finished! + Summer bucket list

That’s right, my first year of grad school is behind me. It has been a whirlwind year alright and all of it was just as unpredictable and challenging as I imagined. I leave with a better sense of the dietitian I want to be AND a better sense of what it’s like to be wife. I’m so fortunate to be married to Terry- he picks up a lot of the slack that I am never around to attend to.

IMG_3573

I am SO excited to be entering into my favorite time of year: SUMMER. Being so busy this past semester with both jobs and school and church made me think about all the things I want to do when I have the time. I decided to create a summer bucket list and challenge myself to complete each one. I think I will blog about them as I go along. Which leads me into my first item…

1. Blog more. Like a bunch more. Maybe more than once a week? Yeah? I am really going to push for it.

2. Go camping in a tent.

3. Visit my friends in Nashville.

4. Read a book a week. Any suggestions?

5. Experiment more in the kitchen. There are so many recipes I want to try out- I almost need a “baking/cooking bucket list”. Meringues! Quiche with homemade crust! Thai! Popovers! More casseroles (Terry loves those).

6. Spend at least 30 minutes outside a day. I NEED to stick with this one.

7. Be consistent about weight lifting. I tried to get more serious starting in March, but the end-of-the-year business really took away a lot of my time. I’m hoping the summer will be the perfect opportunity.

8. Hike a new mountain. I’m leaning towards Table Rock. I’ve been there a handful of times, but I’ve never climbed the whole way.

9. Downsize. I start to feel suffocated by stuff every now and then and now is one of those times. I want to live simply and without a lot of excess and right now I feel like I have so many random items that can be excused from my life. This is just something I have to do from time to time.

10. Study up. Yes, yes it is summertime, but now is the time when I can actually read all of the pages in my nutrition textbooks and not just skim! My clinical nutrition books is chock full of interesting stuff and I now have time to read it all. Perhaps I will share some of the especially interesting things here. I’m thinking I need to make goals a little more specific for this one.

Ten seems like a good number for now… I know I will think of more as I go along, but these are things I feel like I need to say out loud to actually accomplish.

3 thoughts on “It’s finished! + Summer bucket list

  1. I don’t know what you have and haven’t read, but if you haven’t read any Stephen King, you need to read “The Shining.” “The Green Mile” is good too. I’m reading “We, the Drowned” right now. It’s good, but quite long. A couple I haven’t read but would like to someday are “The Road” and “No Country for Old Men” by Cormac McCarthy, and “Les Miserables,” among others, but those are on my mind at the moment.

    1. I actually haven’t read any Stephen King! I guess I associate him with scary clowns. “The Green Mile” sounds good though. I’ve thought before that I need to pick up a McCarthy book. I tend to gravitate towards thrillers (like “Gone Girl”) and books with strong character development. Have you read “Invisible Monsters” by Chuck Palahnuik? He wrote “Fight Club” also. I think you’d like it.

      1. I was about to say I recognized that name before I saw he wrote “Fight Club,” then I knew who it was. I’ve never read one of his before. Once at the bookstore I saw one of his books about a 14-year-old girl who goes to Hell. It looked kind of funny, but looked like it was going to be too Christian bashing to actually read. If you do read any King, read The Shining over The Green Mile. It’s one of my favorite books. So, so good.

Leave a Reply

