pasta and kale salad: a quick & healthy lunch

Do you pack your lunch? I bring my lunch with me Monday-Friday. I rarely have the opportunity to leave campus, because my lunch is either a 30 minute break in between work and class or spent at work covering the phones. I like packing my lunch because it saves a ton of money and I know I have access to a healthy, satisfying lunch. Sometimes, however, things start getting a little boring and repetitious.

This morning I wanted something other than a sandwich with carrot sticks. Luckily, my first class had been canceled and I had a little more time on my hands to be creative. I looked in the contents of my fridge and cabinet and decided on pasta salad. (I fell in love with pasta salad when working at Lillian’s in Columbia.) The salad turned out really good- so now I want you to enjoy it too.

pasta

Salad:

1 handful kale, torn into pieces

½ carrot, chopped finely

¼ green bell pepper, chopped

1 tablespoon capers

2 ounces whole grain rotini pasta

Dressing:

2 (hefty) tablespoons of hummus

3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

½ teaspoon dill

½ teaspoon garlic

Pinch of salt and pepper

Directions:

Cook pasta as directed, drain, and cool. Combine all vegetables and pasta. Stir together ingredients for the dressing to create a smooth consistency. Mix dressing and salad together until well combined.

Throw in lunchbox and head out the door!

2 thoughts on “pasta and kale salad: a quick & healthy lunch

Leave a Reply

