A day on the mountain

Finally! I think spring is upon us. There are many good things about wintertime- holidays, family time, a school break… okay that’s it. I don’t care much for winter, so warmer weather makes my heart so happy.

Luckily we planned a trip to Crowder’s Mountain State Park with some friends on an absolute springy-day. Terry & I love going to parks and walking trails. I don’t know if he loved it when we first got together, but I know he loves it now (one hundred nature trails later).

IMG_2639

The park was packed- understandably, the weather was perfect. I was amazed at how many dogs were hiking with their owners. I just don’t know if Jules is quite ready for that yet…

IMG_2650

Our friends had been there before (it’s where they got engaged!!), so we followed their lead. It was strenuous hike, but the fresh air and beautiful sites kept my mind too occupied to feel worn out. Besides, I always find going down much harder. Anyone else?

IMG_2682

IMG_2683

IMG_2655

IMG_2685

IMG_2687The hike has a good mix of trail and rock climbing, so we worked all kind of muscles. A much more exciting work out than going to the gym.

IMG_2684

When we made it to the top we enjoyed these energy bites. They are great for this kind of thing because they are small & light, but still very dense and filling.

IMG_2641 IMG_2640

We really did have an amazing view. The top was crowded with lots of people- from babies to granddads. I felt connected with them all, like we conquered the mountain together! My iPhone quality photos do not do it justice. 

IMG_2645

IMG_2686

Terry and I both agreed that doing things together, like climbing a mountain, really makes our marriage so much better. It really is important just to get away for a little bit and spend time together. “Quality time” is my top love language for a reason.

IMG_2653

It was great to reconnect with the warmer weather- I am already itching for some more hiking trips.

4 thoughts on “A day on the mountain

  1. Oh man, I love me some good hiking! I really REALY love going on hiking dates with my guy and I agree, getting out and doing something different as a couple really helps make relationships stronger

Leave a Reply

