Sincerely thankful

I love the holidays. As an adult, holidays mean so much more than they ever did. Coming back to my parents’ house to spend time with them is awesome. Bringing a husband with me isn’t too bad either!

This Thanksgiving was jam-packed with seeing different friends and family members, but even with the “go-go” schedule, I was able to enjoy every moment. Terry and I are fortunate that our families live just 15 miles within one another. We don’t have to choose whose house to visit, we can easily choose both! The only downfalls of the weekend were having to say goodbye / not having enough time with everyone / losing my voice on day 2.

On Thursday, we ate lunch at my Mom’s house. She is the casserole queen, so there was a lot of goodness. My contribution this year was cranberry sauce, which I made in the crock pot using this recipe. It is simple, delightfully tart, and it adds a beautiful splash of color to the table.

IMG_1425
The cranberries waiting to be cooked…
IMG_1428
The set up. I loved having the sun shining on us.

We also visited with Terry’s side which includes lots of energetic, adorable youngins’. Then, we went to my aunt & uncle’s home and relaxed while snacking on finger foods. I brought my standard chocolate chip cookies + cranberries, white bean hummus with celery & carrots, and these adorable pumpkin pie cupcakes.  I love being able to contribute by cooking. Next year, I am hoping to do more intricate dishes, after all the holidays are the time to pull out all the stops & tricks.

Prepare for a photo dump:

My backseat riding partner.
My backseat riding partner (aka my nephew). I can’t believe how quickly he is growing up. He is so hilarious and smart!  

IMG_1464

IMG_1461

10468114_10203187554358311_9028720653931294847_n
My sister brought crafts, enjoyed by both young and old 😉
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
These were great- they really did taste like pumpkin pie.
IMG_1480
Random treasure finding at Good Will.
IMG_1515
The most beautiful dog seen @ Terry’s Dad’s house.
IMG_1523
Celebrating my great aunt & uncle’s 50th anniversary with a 4-course meal and lots of good company.
Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset
Cheesing big and wide, because we are living lives filled with undeserved blessings.

I did not even get close to the amount of pictures I was hoping for, but it is hard to remember to do that when living in the moment. Ya know, there may be somethings that bring stress into my life, but I really cannot complain. God is so good.

I hope you enjoyed your Thanksgiving too!


 

Leave a Reply

