Clarity for you and me

In Round Rock, a book I recently read (and loved), the main character wouldn’t greet people with a generic “how are you?” Instead he would ask “what has become clearer to you?” A question that requires much more thought that “good” or “I’m okay.”

photo 1

The thought behind this question is that in between meetings, something- some question or some matter- has been made clearer and easier to comprehend. Or maybe something has simply come to light, something that you hadn’t really thought about before.
Now, if I used this line as a way to meet friends, it would likely throw them off (and perhaps come off a bit pretentious). But what a thought provoking question. A question much more beneficial for the answerer than the asker.
So, what has become clearer to me since we last met?
Well, it has become very clear to me that I made the right decision by choosing Winthrop for my graduate schooling. I love my classes so far, the reading is actually enjoyable, and my gradate associate position is perfect for me.
photo 2
The “office”
It has become clear to me that I am going to have to find a better time management system. Last night after I got home from school and work, Terry and I quickly left for a student’s sporting event, I came home and made dinner, baked cookies (that mostly burnt) for a student’s birthday tonight, washed the dishes, got ready for bed, and packed my lunch. I did a very poor job with making time for studying. The truth is, there are only so many hours in the day and I simply need a better system. These next couple of weeks will be trying, but I believe once I find a system, I will breather easier.
It has become more clear to me that my husband is awesome at being a husband. While this may seem like an obvious one, the more time we spend together, the more grateful I am that God chose me for him.

photo 3

Finally, it has been clear that blogging requires dedication. I so desperately want to be a “regular” blogger, but it has been difficult to find the time to write and the creative energy needed. But I am not giving up! My initial goal was post 3+ times/week… but now I will be happy with 2/week. I am hoping that the more I write the easier it will become.
That’s it for now… hope to be back sooner than later.
Leave a Reply

