Soakin’ up the summertime

Summertime and the living is oh so easy.

Despite my usual “go-getter” attitude, I elected not to start graduate school this summer. After hearing from many wise people, it was decided that I should focus on transitioning into married life and enjoying be a newlywed couple. Then, after realizing that my schedule this summer would keep me from being in town for days at time (the summer of a youth pastor is go, go, go), I ended up not getting a job either.

So basically, this summer has been open for me to do what I want. I have taken advantage of the free time by learning new recipes, actively engaging with friends and family, finding cool spots and trails in Rock Hill, starting this blog, and learning the ins and outs of being married to a youth pastor. I am hoping that all of these things will continue even after I begin graduate school.

In a couple of weeks, I will start graduate school at Winthrop University’s Human Nutrition program. I am getting more excited (and somewhat less nervous) as the days draw closer. I am excited about entering a program that interest me AND starting a new job as a graduate assistant.

photo 3(I thought about trying to look nice for this picture, but still in the summer mindset of “don’t care”)

So what have I been up to lately?

Well, I made these awesome stuffed peppers.

photo 2

They were surprisingly simple. I made these with ground turkey, so they were very filling. I will definitely be making them again.

Thanks to Netflix, I’ve been getting into Dawson’s Creek. I know it is rather ridiculous, but last night it actually brought tears to my eyes. Lame, I know. When my sister watched us in the summer when I was 10 or 11, I saw it everyday from 10-12 o’clock. I must say, it is quite different watching it through a 21-year old’s eyes than it was as a kiddo.

photo 1

^It’s Keith, from Scrubs. :O

One of my best friends, Madelynn, came to visit me. (Yay! I love visitors.) After church, we went to Cook Out for a late night dinner. (Side note- have you tried their barbecue grilled chicken sandwich? It seriously rivals any 8 dollar chicken sandwich).

photo 4

That night we watched the movie “Red Dawn.” Good acting- but kind of a terrible movie. We were able to get through it, but all we could say in the end was “that wasn’t the worst movie I’ve ever seen.” If you’re wondering, that title goes to “The Grudge”.

The next morning, we grabbed bagels from Panera (her favorite) and went for a walk in downtown, where we came across a really neat free art display on Main Street. Also, we found a cool gift shop that sells Styrofoam cauliflowers like this one for $48.95. (Someone PLEASE explain that to me?!)

photo 1

Afterwards, I made pizza from scratch for the first time. It turned out beautifully! I think I will have to work with the crust a little more though, not quite restaurant style yet.

photo 2

Before she left, I wanted to show her my beloved neighborhood, so we went for a walk where we encountered this very large, human-like dog.

photo 4

To keep the party going, Mom came to visit and we went to the Billy Graham Library. I learned a lot, but I feel like I need to go back to absorb more of it.

It was super dark, but here are a few photos I was able to capture:

photo 3

photo 4

photo 5

(wow, I really want an Iphone 5 for its camera quality)

I sure am going to miss the freedom of summertime, but I am excited to start a new chapter as a grad student.

Leave a Reply

