The Ceremony

The “before” period was much easier to recap, mostly because it didn’t flash before my eyes. The ceremony, however, feels like a dream. All I remember are smiles, tears, and some laughter.

The post will be picture saturated, simply because pictures usually tell beautiful stories better than words do.

The groomsmen walked the moms and grandmothers down the aisle to their seats.

DSC_0009

DSC_0017

DSC_0020

Once the wedding was ready to begin, the music began to play. As the groomsmen and bridesmaids made their way down the aisle, “Things We Should Say” by Future of Forestry played. When I first heard the song, I knew I wanted it to be in my wedding. It is SO beautiful. It reminds of me of having to be long distance and how we managed to overcome it and make it work. Also great is the message that we should voice are feelings and truly live in the moment, because life is short and too precious to not be candor and genuine. The song worked magically.

IMG_7744IMG_7763 IMG_7751  IMG_7705IMG_7675IMG_7713

Aren’t these kids cute? I am so glad both my niece and nephew were able to be in the wedding. They looked adorable and did a pretty good job for being 3 and 4.

IMG_7767  DSC_0075DSC_0083  DSC_0071

While my dad and I waited for our turn to make our way across the bridge, which served as the aisle, we talked about family who managed to make it on time and the technical details of when to go and how to stand. I couldn’t look at my Dad, because I knew I would erupt in tears. My Dad and my Mom have been everything to me. Stood by me in sickness, believed in my goals, and encouraged me to live a happy, fulfilling life. The hardest part of the wedding was saying goodbye to being their child.

DSC_0129

IMG_7826

DSC_0158

We walked down to a song that has been a favorite of mine for a long time, “Such Great Heights” by Iron and Wine. I have fallen in love with at different times in my life. The beginning is my favorite- it is what made me choose the song for my entrance.

“I am thinking it’s a sign
That the freckles in our eyes
Are mirror images and when
We kiss they’re perfectly aligned

And I have to speculate
That God himself did make
Us into corresponding shapes
Like puzzle pieces from the clay

And true, it may seem like a stretch,
But its thoughts like this that catch
My troubled head when you’re away
When I am missing you to death”

DSC_0140

My dad gave me away.

DSC_0160

We read our vows that we written ourselves. Terry was right to convince me into writing our own.

 DSC_0197

DSC_0189

DSC_0200

DSC_0183

We also did communion together. Everyone there was invited to participate, which was pretty cool to see. Except my throat was so dry, I guess from nerves, that when I swallowed the piece of bread I didn’t think it was going down for a second. Yikes.

IMG_8464

DSC_0226

IMG_7992

We were announced and we kissed.

DSC_0179

DSC_0271

DSC_0280

Finally, we made it official.

IMG_8516 IMG_8506

It was simply beautiful. I could not have asked for a better wedding.

photos done by Emery Ford Creative

Leave a Reply

