Wholesome Peach and Blueberry Cobbler

Terry and I kept our niece last week so that she could attend Vacation Bible School. She had a blast and we enjoyed having her around for a bit. We find that borrowing kids for a few days is all we need in the parenting department for now. On Saturday we took her back home to Terry’s mom and then went to visit my family who luckily lives close by.

One of the luxuries of visiting home is having someone cook for you. Though I love to cook, it is nice to sit down to a prepared meal every once in a while. Especially if it is made by my Mom.

Mom cooked for us a delicious meal of oven-baked chicken accompanied by lots of summer vegetables. For dessert, she baked a delicious peach cobbler made with peaches brought over by my Grandma, fresh from the farm.

mom

While enjoying the hot, gooey goodness of cobbler, Mom mention how simple it was to make. Grandma affirmed this, listing the ingredients as just flour, milk, sugar, and fruit. As I saw Terry light up more and more with every bite, I told him I would make one with the peaches mom was sending home with us. If it really was that easy, I might as well try it.

But of course, I can’t just “make” one. I have to reinvent one. A cobbler made with wholesome ingredients. Could it be done and be delicious? (Challenge accepted!)

(Because I promised Terry a cobbler, I didn’t put all my hope in him liking the experimental one, so I made two.)

Instead of regular self-rising flour, I used a mix of whole wheat flour and all-purpose flour. Instead of regular milk, I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk. And instead of white sugar, I used honey.

FYI: I made a smaller version due to a fear of a non-delicious result, but I wrote the recipe down here as doubled the size I made since it, indeed, turned out delicious!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Recipe:

2/3 cup whole wheat flour

1/3 cup all-purpose

1  tsp baking soda

1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1/2 cup honey

Optional: a dash of cinnamon and a dash of vanilla extract

2 large peaches, peeled and cut in to 1-inch pieces

1/2 cup blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 F. Mix together all ingredients other than fruit. Spray a 9 x 13 in. baking dish with non-stick cooking spray. Pour mixture into dish. Evenly spoon peaches on top of mixture.  Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes or until set with golden brown edges.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Aren’t cobblers so pretty? I think the mix of fruit makes it especially easy on the eyes (and stomach!)  Thankfully, it turned out great. A little denser than traditional cobbler, but I prefer to think of it as “heartier.” While Terry preferred the traditional one, he said the “healthy” one was “very good.” I’ll take it!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Leave a Reply

