Homemade Dog Treats

I have never been a dog person. In fact, I never understood how OBSESSED people were with their dogs. Why would I want to share my bed with a smelly animal? And no thanks, I don’t want to share my food with my pet.
As an early teen, my family decided to get a puppy, mostly for my little brother. It was beagle-lab mix and it was pretty dang cute. My brother liked the letter “Z”, so he named it “Zero.” (Should have realized then things wouldn’t end well then.) No one in my family really knew how to handle a puppy. We could only take Zero in small doses, because he really loved to jump on us and lick us and we weren’t into that. We did our best to love him and were truly sad when he dug himself out of the yard and followed a trouble-making dog out into the road. Yeah, kind of depressing- blame it on an over-active dog and novice dog owners.

Fast-forward to now. I am married and we have a dog. A lab-collie mix. She is about six months old and her name is Jules. To be honest, I wasn’t exactly thrilled when Terry decided to adopt the pup. However, Terry is absolutely in love with her (he’s a born and bred “dog” person), and I am getting there. Jules and I bond over walking adventures and soaking up sun on the porch together.

I am also learning how a dog really is like a member of the family. She requires almost as much attention as a small child- feeding her, walking her, providing a cozy place for her to sleep, and finding babysitters for when we go out of town. So basically, we have a child.

Anyways, today I want to share a dog treat recipe. Dog treats are very expensive- especially if they are not made mostly of fillers. I like Jules having treats in the house, for when she gets cranky between meals or is being a particularly good girl. And of course, treats are handy when we’re trying to get her to do something. For a frugal gal like me, making the treats myself is ideal.

photo 3

photo 1

These treats are really easy and SO cheap to make (less than one cent per treat)! The only filler here is love. 😉

Incredibly Easy Dog Biscuits 

-1 cup 100% whole wheat flour ($0.22)
-1/2 cup applesauce ($0.17)
-1 tablespoon natural smooth peanut butter ($0.15)
-1 tablespoon water

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Combine ingredients in a mixing bowl. Dough should be sticky and not too wet.
3. Roll batter into little balls and then flatten into cookie shapes onto a greased baking sheet. I made 20 biscuits. These do not spread, so I rolled mine as seen in the pictures.
4. Bake for about 20 minutes. Allow to cool.

recipe inspiration 

photo 2

And yes, these do have Jules’s approval.

photo 5

Leave a Reply

